Instructor Reviews

"Eight years later I’ve never struggled for work and still love my job"

Rated 5 out of 5

I wanted to be a Driving Instructor for a long time and before I knew of Benson School of Motoring and I originally began training with another company. This turned out to be a very bad and expensive experience for me and thought my opportunity had passed.. I often saw Benson cars around where I lived and thought I’d give it another go. I contacted Benson School of Motoring met my trainer Terry Faulkes and I’ve never looked back. There was no pressure to pay any up front fees, just to pay as I trained. I always felt I had his support and that of the company and passed all my exams at the first attempt. Eight years later I’ve never struggled for work and still love my job.

Avatar for Ian Cude - ADI
Ian Cude - ADI

"I leave this review with a big thank you to John Benson and Benson School of Motoring"

Rated 5 out of 5

My names Jason Purslow and I began my training in 2018 with Benson School of Motoring and received excellent tuition. I even managed to pass all 3 of my exams on the first attempt. ! Since then I have gone on to become a DVSA “Grade A” at my standards check, which is the highest grade available. There is a great bunch of friendly instructors out on the road with Benson School of Motoring and everyone’s willing to offer a helping hand wherever its needed. I’m just about to leave Benson School of Motoring in May 2022 and start my own driving school and I leave this review with a big thank you to John Benson and Benson School of Motoring

Avatar for Jason Purslow - ADI
Jason Purslow - ADI

"Since I passed I’ve never had to worry about running short of work"

Rated 5 out of 5

I worked for John at Benson School of Motoring for the last 20 years-plus years. When I first looked around to see which company was the best to train with, Benson stood out above all the rest and I’ve never regretted it. I got plenty of support and training from the then Ray Wallace, Paul Perkins (now a driving examiner), John Parker (now retired) and even some training from John himself at no expense. Since I passed I’ve never had to worry about running short of work because of the amount of promotion done by the company and instructors and also the amount of happy customers who have passed with Bensons. I’d definitely recommend Bensons to anybody looking to become a driving instructor or to anybody wanting to learn to drive. It’s been more than 20 years since I started and now I am about to retire but its been a good time.

Avatar for Mark Joslin
Mark Joslin

"From day one, the help and support I have received from everyone has been second to none"

Rated 5 out of 5

I’d been wanting a change in career for a while, and had thought about becoming a driving instructor some years previous.
After seeing a Facebook advert from Benson School of Motoring in April 2021, i enquired about the training, had a few meetings and decided to make that change.
I started work as a licensed trainee in March 2022 with a very busy diary, and I can honestly say I know I’ve chosen the correct career.
From day one, the help and support I have received from everyone has been second to none.
If you are after that career change, I couldn’t recommend Benson School of Motoring enough.

Avatar for Scott Webb
Scott Webb

"I was fed up of working in an office seeing the same four walls day in day out"

Rated 5 out of 5

I started working with Benson School of Motoring in 2009. I was fed up of working in an office seeing the same four walls day in day out and I wanted a change and more flexible working hours. I did some research and from the very beginning Benson School of Motoring stood out to be the most professional. My first ever meeting with my trainer was very informative, professional and on time. (Unlike the previous school I had met with). From there I attending the training courses provided and I passed all 3 of my tests first time, and never looked back. John Benson is also available with advise or help if I have asked for it. And I have always had a full diary of pupils.

Avatar for Louise Radley
Louise Radley

"I had wanted to become an ADI for years and finally decided to take the plunge after speaking with John"

Rated 5 out of 5

I had wanted to become an ADI for years and finally decided to take the plunge after speaking with John. I started my training in 2021 and I’m still a licensed trainee instructor at the moment but my learning experience at Benson has been fantastic. The office and training staff are always available for support and guidance and I really feel part of the Benson family. My diary has been full since my first day of work and I’m looking forward to many more years being part of the Benson team.

Avatar for Caroline Bowers
Caroline Bowers

"My training was excellent and I trained around my full time job"

Rated 5 out of 5

I previously worked in retail but had always wanted to become a driving instructor I saw an advertisement on Facebook in 2014 to train to become a driving instructor and when I saw the opportunity to pay as you train I had to do it. My training was excellent and I trained around my full time job until I qualified in 2015. In 2021 I moved from the Newmarket area back to my home area of Barnsley when I now work for Benson School 0f Motoring.
I love my job and seeing a students face and their reaction when the examiner says they’ve passed is priceless best decision I ever made to become a driving instructor.

Avatar for Vanessa Hirst
Vanessa Hirst

"The office team provides excellent support"

Rated 5 out of 5

I started training with Benson School of Motoring in April 2017 after being made redundant from many years working in IT and wanting a career change. The Benson team and staff trainers provided me with an excellent level of training, including John Benson personally training me for my Part 2 test, which then enabled me to become a fully qualified driving instructor.
The office team provides excellent support and have supported me from the beginning to help me successfully run my own franchise business under the Benson name.
A career as a driving instructor is like no other, regularly meeting new people and then helping them to become independent by passing their driving test, there is no better job satisfaction than when your pupil passes their test.

Avatar for Andy N
Andy N

"The training was second to none, and enabled me to pass all three of the required tests at the first attempt."

Rated 5 out of 5

I joined Benson School of Motoring in 2017 after being made redundant from my previous job. I replied to an advertisement and began training straight away. The training was second to none, and enabled me to pass all three of the required tests at the first attempt.
Living as I do in rural Norfolk, I was concerned that I might be a bit out on a limb, but I need not have worried. The help and support from head office is only a phone call away and I have never been short of students to teach. I am really happy to have chosen Benson School of Motoring for my new career, and look forward to continuing to help people learn to drive in the future.

Avatar for Laurie Bush
Laurie Bush

"I am so glad I made the decision to join John and his team"

Rated 5 out of 5

I was wanting a career change when I came across an advert to become a driving instructor with Benson School Of Motoring in 2021. I soon signed up and was given all the help required to pass each of the DVSA tests. I am so glad I made the decision to join John and his team. Everyone has been so supportive and I cannot wait to get started on Monday 11th April. I have a full diary of pupils already and wanting to learn to drive and I’m hoping to keep the Benson School Of Motoring reputation in Harlow as good as its been for many years.

Avatar for Chris Penney
Chris Penney

"I feel this is the best career move I have ever made"

Rated 5 out of 5

I became a Driving Instructor with Benson School of Motoring in 2014. I feel this is the best career move I have ever made.
Not only was the training 1st class but the support and friendship at the company is 2nd to none. We have our own in-house trainers who are always available and happy to help as well as a great team of office staff. We also have an office based in our hometown of Braintree which is open to both customers and staff/Instructors.
It’s not all work and no play either. We have various social events including an annual Golf day and coach trips. We also support various Fayres and Carnivals especially the Braintree Carnival.

Avatar for Terry Wannell
Terry Wannell

"It has been 5 years since I passed, and I love my job every day"

Rated 5 out of 5

After working in retail and in call centres, I wanted a career and something that I had a passion for. I originally passed my driving test with Benson School of Motoring and knew it would be the best fit for me to become a driving instructor with and for. They helped with all the training to become a driving instructor by providing theory nights and in-car training and even bus training days. It has been 5 years since I passed, and I love my job every day. I am constantly busy with work, and this was the best career change for my family and me.

Avatar for Jon Challis
Jon Challis

"More than just a job"

Rated 5 out of 5

I joined Benson School of Motoring in 2018, coming from a teaching background in the ski teaching industry. My wife was learning with Kevin Carrol; an automatic instructor and passed her driving test and after chatting with him, I decided to meet with the Benson Staff Trainer and after the meeting I joined the franchise and started my part one training late summer 2018, passing first time. After my winter ski season, I passed my part 2 with just one driver fault in Colchester, then I started work as a trainee driving instructor in August 2019. After I started my part 3 training with Rob Brown, 1 to 1 sessions and group bus days, November 2019 I passed my part 3 first time and became a fully qualified ADI (Approved Driving Instructor). Since then the office have continuously helped me with my franchise position. I have been fully booked I have had to stop taking new bookings. In-fact, in March 2022 I was fully booked for the whole of 2022. All the other instructors are always there for a chat or support.

Avatar for Glen Radford - Started work August 2019
Glen Radford - Started work August 2019

"Since then, I have not looked back and have a very busy diary"

Rated 5 out of 5

Before becoming a driving instructor, I was in the newspaper industry for a number of years and just felt that I needed a career change.
I started training with Benson School of Motoring in 2012 and was able to study and take classes around my previous job. The support and guidance I had from my trainer was great and I started teaching in 2013.
Since then, I have not looked back and have a very busy diary. You’re still not on your own though as John Benson and his office team are there to offer any help and advice when needed.
I’m more than happy to continue to be part of the Benson School of Motoring team.

Avatar for Paul Anthony - ADI
Paul Anthony - ADI

"I was warmly welcomed straight away and begun my career as a driving instructor"

Rated 5 out of 5

I joined Benson School Of Motoring in 2016 after being made redundant from my previous job. I was warmly welcomed straight away and begun my career as a driving instructor. The training I received was fantastic and the atmosphere is like one big family. I’m really happy I joined and love my job as an instructor.

Avatar for Roy Lee - ADI
Roy Lee - ADI

"I look forward to going to work everyday"

Rated 5 out of 5

I Joined Benson School of Motoring as both a motorcycle & car instructor after nearly 18 years working in the hospitality industry. It was the best decision I ever made.
When I applied I never thought I would get past the interview stage, I had no experience teaching, and didn’t think I had the relevant experience, but John Benson and Andy Court gave me the opportunity to learn. (Andy Court runs the Benson Motorcycle Training side of the business). The training & support I received was first class, which enabled me to pass both my part 2 and part 3 tests on my first attempt. But, the training and support does not end there, the staff trainers or office staff were always at the end of the phone whenever I had a question about a particular issue I was working on.

The whole team (I say team but it’s more like a family) are awesome and always looking out for each other. I look forward to going to work everyday, there is always a new challenge to get stuck into and then you get the ultimate reward…. I mean the feeling you get when a pupil passes their test.

Avatar for Andy Leech - ADI
Andy Leech - ADI

"I choose Benson School of Motoring as I had wanted to become a driving instructor for some years"

Rated 5 out of 5

I choose Benson School of Motoring as I had wanted to become a driving instructor for some years. Benson School of Motoring offered a very professional approach to the training and the support was always there for me. I have now been with the company for 11 years and in this time I have achieved a good business and am now a grade A driving instructor and with good support of all the office staff and other instructors and John Benson.

Avatar for Terry Faulkes - Been with us since 2011
Terry Faulkes - Been with us since 2011

"I would not have stayed this long if I was not happy with all the company has to offer"

Rated 5 out of 5

I chose Benson School of Motoring in 1999 and I was given excellent training to pass the instructor exams. I became part of the team who I like and respect and have great camaraderie and friendship with instructors and office staff alike. I have always been supplied with a lot of students and only have to ask if I need more. There is always backup in help at the end of the phone I have been with Benson School of Motoring for 23 years now and would not have stayed this long if I was not happy with all the company has to offer.

Avatar for Rob Austin - Started with us in 1999 and still with us today
Rob Austin - Started with us in 1999 and still with us today

"I'm enjoying my time as an instructor"

Rated 5 out of 5

My name is Shaun Youngs and I’m based in Ipswich, Suffolk.
I started with Benson School of Motoring back in 2012 when I was in the between jobs position and not very happy.
I always wanted to be a driving instructor but never really looked into it until back in 2012 when I made contact with Paul Beck the then staff trainer at Benson and had a chat. I’ve never looked back. The training was really good and I’m enjoying my time as an instructor.

Avatar for Shaun Youngs - Started Work 2012
Shaun Youngs - Started Work 2012

"The best career decision I ever made"

Rated 5 out of 5

I have been with Benson School of Motoring for the last 11 years and in the last 5 years have been privileged enough to also provide staff training as well as learner tuition through the support and guidance of the office and it’s staff. I work my diary around my young son’s school hours and have a healthy work life balance. I love my work and I am still as passionate about it as the first day I started, if not more so. It is without a doubt the most rewarding career I could ever have asked for and I take great pride in my work. When I first looked into becoming a driving instructor I remembered the instructor who trained me as a learner. I originally had a local company that I had a couple of failed attempts of passing my test with and then I changed to a Benson driving instructor and passed first time, so I knew the training and quality was what I wanted to work towards. I made enquiries and within less than a week I had signed up, started training and I have not looked back since. It is the best career decision I have ever made. I’ve been with Benson as a learner driver and 11 years more as an instructor and they’ve never let me down.

Avatar for Sarah Goodacre - Peterborough - Started with us in 2010
Sarah Goodacre - Peterborough - Started with us in 2010

"A career that changed my life for the better"

Rated 5 out of 5

After joining Benson School of Motoring I have felt nothing but pride and joy in the work I do. The training I have received has been excellent, the other Benson instructors also helped me by passing down knowledge their years of experience. The office staff couldn’t be more friendly, always willing to answer questions and help. I haven’t been with Bensons for a long Period of time but I’m always getting new students from the office, which is keeping me working hard and busy.
I didn’t know if this would be the career for me but now I wouldn’t go back. I’m enjoying the job and wouldn’t go anywhere else but Bensons.

Avatar for Dale Evans - Started work 2021
Dale Evans - Started work 2021

"I feel very lucky to do a job that causes no Monday morning blues"

Rated 5 out of 5

I joined Benson School Of Motoring in 2019 having previously spent 9 years as a full time Mum/Carer for my severely disabled Daughter. When it was time to get back to work I knew I didn’t want to be stuck behind a desk all day, and also that I wanted to do something that made a positive difference to other people’s lives.
There are challenging days on the roads, it’s not always easy, but with the more difficult times come the huge smiles of achievement when a roundabout is driven independently or 70mph is reached on the Dual Carriageway for the first time. And of course there’s the high fives when that test is passed!
My diary is always full, I choose the days and times that I work to fit around my family life. The office team are supportive and I never feel I’m on my own, despite being self employed.
I feel very lucky to do a job that causes no Monday morning blues, with a company that supports its Instructors to deliver a high quality of lessons for all pupils.

Avatar for Avril Creamer Ipswich - Started work 2019
Avril Creamer Ipswich - Started work 2019

Since being an ADI, I have enjoyed my freedom and my pupils

Rated 5 out of 5

I signed up with Benson in September of 2019 having been a supply teacher for 8 years. I had looked at other websites, but decided on Benson because of their friendliness and advice. I felt that they were a family led business, whose owner, John was very much a part of the company, with a close interest on the standards and high quality of the driving instructors.
I received excellent training for the part 1 and 2 and I passed first time. The part 3 I found much harder to pass, but with encouragement and training from Rob Brown I passed. My training started as COVID 19 took hold and John allowed the drivers to not pay any fees for 34 weeks and until we were allowed to start teaching again. This allowed a lot of instructors to keep afloat at this time and was very much welcomed.
Since being an ADI, I have enjoyed my freedom and my pupils, all of which have been a pleasure to teach. I am building up my experience, my practice areas and my relationship with the Benson office, who keep me topped up with pupils. The decision to become a driving instructor is a personal decision, but being linked with a franchise, helps by not being alone. Benson is there for support, training and to answer any of your questions.

Avatar for Nicky Langdon - ADI
Nicky Langdon - ADI

If anyone is looking for a career change, I will definitely recommend Benson School of Motoring.

Rated 5 out of 5

I started my driving instructor training in 2015 with Paul Beck who was one of the trainers with Benson School of Motoring. I was looking for a new career at that point and when I saw the BSoM advertisement on the Facebook I contacted the office and it was the start of an excellent career for me. On the first meeting I knew that I was happy to join because it was all done locally; the training, the meetings and even my trainer lived locally.
I have always been a confident driver and liked driving so it felt like a right career for me and even since I started teaching, I’ve not looked back once.
As soon as I started teaching, I had very good support from the Benson office and they started booking students in my diary very quickly. There is a very helpful office team only a phone call away and even John Benson himself helped me and has been very supportive when I needed it. If anyone is looking for a career change, I will definitely recommend Benson School of motoring.

Avatar for Sajjad Hussain - ADI
Sajjad Hussain - ADI

JOB SATISFACTION

Rated 5 out of 5

I originally opted to become a motorcycle instructor, because who wouldn’t want to ride a motorbike on a daily basis? I became a motorcycle instructor about 4years ago and it is pretty straight forward to get into, if you are willing to learn the knowledge. My trainer Andy Court always pushed me in the right direction Being a motorcycle instructor is total job satisfaction and we are a small but mighty team over at Benson Motorcycle Training.
I then became car instructor too. Becoming a driving instructor for Benson Motorcycle Training opened my eyes to how many instructors are willing to help out. We have in-house instructor trainers; and if it was not for them and bringing out the good stuff in myself as a trainee instructor I think I probably would have given up.
It is hard work at first but very rewarding at the end. The best part of being a driving instructor is that your pupils will always remember their driving instructor as it is a life changing moment when they are holding that pass certificate.

Avatar for Demi Ward - ADI and Motorcycle Instructor
Demi Ward - ADI and Motorcycle Instructor

"Looking back, I wish I had made this career change much sooner"

Rated 5 out of 5

Looking back, I wish I had made this career change much sooner. I investigated becoming an instructor back in 2019 and very quickly realised that it was something I would enjoy doing.
Throughout my training I was given the time and tolls I needed in building up my knowledge and confidence as an instructor. Even now as a qualified ADI I still feel that I can turn to my trainer and the instructors around me for advice and that extra bit of knowledge that I can use and pass on to my students.
Every day is different. Every student brings new challenges. It is hard work but when it comes down to it and your student goes out for that test and passes, that hard work and challenges are so worth it.

Avatar for Rob Garrard - ADI
Rob Garrard - ADI

There is no doubt that the training I have received is first class and I can now pass that training on to my students.

Rated 5 out of 5

I had wanted to become a driving instructor for a long time but had never done anything about it until seeing an advert from Benson School of Motoring. At the time I was working as a Learning Support Assistant at Tabor High senior school and for 4 years before that a house husband. After a conversation with Paul Beck I knew this was the time to go for it. I started my training with Paul and the team in February 2015 and just a year on I am a qualified and busy ADI. There is no doubt that the training I have received is first class and I can now pass that training on to my students. And now in 2022 I’ve been their main staff trainer (training future instructors) for the last about 3 years and now in 2022, I’ve been their main staff trainer (training future instructors) for the last about 4 years.

Avatar for Rob Brown - Commenced work September 2015 (still with us in 2022)
Rob Brown - Commenced work September 2015 (still with us in 2022)

I can say that without John’s help and support I would not be an ADI today

Rated 5 out of 5

When I first started training to become a driving instructor, I trained with another instructor trainer. Unfortunately, I failed at the third and final attempt of the then DSA’s test and could not by law continue. I then approached John Benson and he offered to personally train me. I can say that without John’s help and support I would not be an ADI today and I say that in complete sincerity after spending 11 years as an instructor with him. It’s a great company to work for and if you require any advice the office staff are always at hand to help. In all the years that I have worked for the company I have never been short of work. I would have no hesitation in recommending Benson School of Motoring, a company that continues to go from strength to strength while remaining top employers.

Avatar for Kevin Carroll - Commenced work 2004 (still with us in 2022)
Kevin Carroll - Commenced work 2004 (still with us in 2022)

After a lot of Internet “searching” I settled on Benson School of Motoring and have not looked back.

Rated 5 out of 5

Having spent 25 years in retail and rapidly approaching my mid-forties a change of career was called for and that fitted around my family’s needs. I had for many years fancied being a driving instructor but never pursued the dream. After a lot of Internet “searching” I settled on Benson School of Motoring and have not looked back. The training package delivered by Paul Beck and his team was superb and support from the office and John Benson himself is second to none. I now run the DISABILITY TUITION side of the company and recently signed up for 10 further years with Benson School of Motoring a company that knocks other driving schools out of the ball park…

Avatar for Gavin Leech - Commenced work 2011 (sadly died of a heart attack in 2022)
Gavin Leech - Commenced work 2011 (sadly died of a heart attack in 2022)

The training has been outstanding and would like to thank everyone at Benson for giving me this opportunity

Rated 5 out of 5

I was in the same old retail job for 20 years but always wanted to be an instructor. I saw an advert in the local job centre; decided to go for it and the rest is history. It’s the best decision I’ve ever made. Since starting training with Benson School of Motoring in November 2014 and then starting work in July 2015 I have received continuous support and encouragement. The training has been outstanding and would like to thank everyone at Benson for giving me this opportunity.

Avatar for Sam Mallet - Commenced work 2015 (still with us in 2022)
Sam Mallet - Commenced work 2015 (still with us in 2022)

I met John Benson after one of his instructors at a test centre gave me a business card. I have never looked back!

Rated 5 out of 5

I worked for BSM for a short while before joining Benson. I was not happy with my workload at BSM but was always seeing Benson cars around. I met John Benson after one of his instructors at a test centre gave me a business card. I have never looked back! I am always busy and regularly top 50 hours per week. My car is changed on a regular basis and over the last 24 years or so I have never had reason to complain.

Avatar for Steve Green - Commenced work 1998 (still with us in 2022)
Steve Green - Commenced work 1998 (still with us in 2022)

John Benson personally trained me and I worked for the company for over 2 years

Rated 5 out of 5

John Benson personally trained me and I worked for the company for over 2 years before leaving and starting my own driving school. John and his office staff are very helpful and after leaving them we still worked very closely. For training and for a good company to work for I couldn’t recommend them enough.

Avatar for Ken Keene (owner of Ken’s School of Motoring) - Commenced work 2001
Ken Keene (owner of Ken’s School of Motoring) - Commenced work 2001

The grass is not just greener but absolutely lush, the “other side of the fence”!

Rated 5 out of 5

I joined Benson School of Motoring in April 2000 after working for BSM for some 6 previous years. I have never been happier. The grass is not just greener but absolutely lush, the “other side of the fence”! After working with the other side I can sincerely say Benson School of Motoring are the best! Since 2005 I have taken up partnership with John Benson and now run Benson Motorcycle Training.

Avatar for Andy Court - Commenced work 2000 (still with us in 2022)
Andy Court - Commenced work 2000 (still with us in 2022)